Campus History

Universitas Atma Jaya Yogyakarta (UAJY) is a private university founded by the laity and managed by Slamet Rijadi Foundation - Yogyakarta, under the patronage of Saint Albertus Magnus. UAJY was established on September 27, 1965, aiming to participate in educating nation through education with a local dimension and global orientation.

Since August 31, 1973, Atma Jaya Catholic University of Indonesia in Yogyakarta has separated from the Atmajaya Catholic University of Indonesia in Jakarta and been established as the UNIVERSITAS ATMA JAYA YOGYAKARTA.

The name of “Atma Jaya” is taken from Sanskrit. Atma means soul, Jaya means superior. Thus, Atma Jaya means a superior soul. UAJY's aspiration from the beginning is to provide higher education with excellence in academics and education with high moral values.

UAJY has 12 regular study programs and 5 international study programs for Bachelor degree, and 7 study programs for Master degree. All study programs have been accredited by BAN-PT (The National Accreditation Board for Higher Education).

Based on the spirit of Serviens in Lumine Veritatis and the principles of integrity, transparency and accountability, innovation, multiculturalism, openness, sustainability, and siding with the weak, UAJY participates in educating the nation's life, forming human beings who are cultured, civilized, high moral, superior and value diversity.

UAJY advances and disseminates environmentally friendly science and technology that is beneficial to human life participates in efforts to promote public welfare and the creation of world peace, performs works in community empowerment efforts, and is anticipatory and responsive to natural disasters, both nationally and internationally and by keeping in mind the values of Indonesian local wisdom.